half goon half god

Lancaster Update

In Uncategorized on May 19, 2008 at 5:22 pm

First off, Lancaster News Headlines:

One man and his new dog

ACCLAIMED Quernmore sheepdog handler Thomas Longton bought a new dog for more than £2,000 at auction on Friday.
Moss, who has picked up a total of 17 awards, was sold for 2,150 guineas by retired Kirkby Lonsdale farm manager Sandy Beaton.

Mr Longton, current president of the International Sheep Dog Society, said: “I have always respected Sandy Beaton both as a trainer and handler.

He has had some really nice dogs in the past, including Lec, who sired my own Tweed, a truly classical dog who became English Nationals drive and brace champion. Moss reminded me of Tweed.”

Moss could go far as Thomas Longton is best known as a former supreme championship winner and One Man and His Dog title holder.

At the annual spring sale of working sheepdogs at Skipton Auction Mart, eight dogs achieved prices of more than 2,000 guineas including two which topped 3,000.

STOP PRESS! A MAN BOUGHT A DOG!

Preparations for the exchange are slowly going ahead. I have my passport, and my applications for uni and government funding have gone in. Those should really come in handy, as flights to/from the UK are not cheap, and I’ll be having to buy my own groceries and stuff while I’m over there. The more money I can get, even if it’s a loan on top of my HECS debt, the easier it will be to get stuff done without worrying about money.

Now all I need to do, really, is book the flights. I should do that within the next few weeks. I’ve already worked out who to fly with (Singapore Airlines), but exactly when to fly out is a harder decision. At least I don’t have to worry about accommodation for the month I’m there before uni starts, though – my uncle wants to show me around all of England, especially the area where my Mum grew up, as well as visiting all the family, so that’s taken care of. I’m just waiting for info about getting a room in one of the Lancaster Uni colleges. All I know about them is that apparently Bowland College is the best (according to mysterycreature).

That’s about it for now, I think. I’d best be getting back to pushing innocent pedestrians down stairs in GTA IV.

  1. at least you’ll be up with all the man owning dog news when you get there.

  2. So the big day must be approaching?

  3. Yes, I guess it is!

    Shall blog this weekend about it all (I bet you’re on the edge of your seat in anticipation!)

Leave a Reply

