half goon half god

The WGA Writers Strike – Environmentally Damaging.

In Uncategorized on November 20, 2007 at 5:23 pm

Well, I’m sure we’ve all heard about the writers’ strike in the US, where writers are demanding a greater share of DVD and internet revenue. It’s quite technical, so I won’t go into the full details here. Much more knowledgable and informed people have written much better on the issue, and I can’t pretend to be on their level. However, on my travels through the internet, I stumbled upon a video on YouTube from someone calling themselves ‘greenwarrior58’, called ‘Honking Us to Death’:

Apparently, the actions of the striking writers are harming the environment, due to the immense amounts of gases emitted from their creation of promotional materials, their driving to the picket lines, and all manner of other related things. Even people honking their support as they drive past, which the writers encourage, is contributing to these emissions.  

I find this all quite interesting. I don’t quite know where all their statistics come from, but it’s a different viewpoint to the traditional ‘writers vs networks’ one that everyone’s focussing on. As it says, ‘human activity is the main cause of climate change’. Why should the writers be exempt from this? I think this is a matter that ought to be considered further, especially as climate change is a massive issue these days.  

They have a blog as well, if you want to read further: agreenerplanet.blogspot.com. Seems to be a bit sparse but I guess it’s only new. Forgive me for getting a little political here, but I really did find this compelling. I promise, no more politics on the halfblog! 

  1. YEAH!! POLITICAL!

  2. You have sold out, HG2. All this fucking political talk, what the hell!?

    I come here for the mutant seals.

    halfgoon: I know, I know… I feel dirty. 😦

Leave a Reply

