half goon half god

Music Retrospective (Nearly)

In Uncategorized on June 21, 2007 at 12:23 am

It seems that writing a year-by-year retrospective of albums is harder than it sounds.

What I’m trying to do is find one album per year, 1996 to 2006, that was a key album for me in that particular year. So I have to have bought/been given that album in the year it was released. My problem is that I just cannot remember exactly when I got some of these albums. I strive for factual integrity on this blog, so I’m not going to be telling you I bought something one year when I actually didn’t.

For example, did I get Powderfinger’s Internationalist in the year of its release – 1998 – or in 1999? I just don’t know! And do I count Regurgitator’s Unit: Rebooted as a 1998 release, or just as a repackaging of Unit, released in 1997?

And then it gets worse. After 2001, my total number of albums bought starts to climb by massive amounts. Not only does that make it more difficult to work out in which year I bought them, it makes the process of choosing incredibly tough. For example, for 2001, who do I choose – When Young Terrorists Chase The Sun by Gerling, Regurgitator’s Eduardo & Rodriquez Wage War on T-Wrecks, Spiderbait’s The Flight of Wally Funk or Gorillaz by Gorillaz? It’s really difficult! And that’s just 2001.

2004 – Who do I choose out of Franz Ferdinand, The Go! Team, Machine Gun Fellatio, Regurgitator, or Scissor Sisters? How about 2005, which brought Architecture In Helsinki, Beck, The Dandy Warhols, Eels, and The White Stripes? They’re all really good – maybe not Eels as much… I preferred his earlier stuff – but you know what I mean. It’s just difficult. I guess 2006 is easy, as I can just put Belle & Sebastian’s The Life Pursuit up again, but I feel that that is cheating, and I forbid myself to do such a thing.

Maybe I’ll do a list thing. That might be easier. Maybe I should just list everything? Lists are fun. All style, no content! That’s how you fill a magazine, surely that works on the internet? Right?

  1. Lists! I can’t get enough of ’em. In fact I might make a list of my all-time- Top Ten lists ;P
    Keep the recommendations coming! đŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

