half goon half god

How did HG2 Fare in the Hottest 100?

In Uncategorized on January 28, 2007 at 9:22 pm

The Hottest 100 was on Friday. Augie March’s One Crowded Hour came in at number one. Good on them. It’s a good song, and they’re Australian, so I can’t be too picky about it.

But what we’re more interested in is how MY shortlist of 10 songs did. How close was I in picking Australia’s favourite songs of 2006? Did my votes shape history? Did I push my favourite bands over the line into Australian musical glory?

Let us have a look!

Belle & Sebastian – Funny Little Frog – NO!

Boy Least Likely To – Be Gentle With Me – NO!

Flaming Lips – It Overtakes Me – NO!

Islands – Don’t Call Me Whitney, Bobby – NO!

Panda Band – Ghosts Have The Best Time – NO!

Peter Bjorn & John – Let’s Call It Off – NO!

Red Paintings – Pickles – NO!

Scissor Sisters – Paul McCartney – NO!

Sleepy Jackson – Devil Was In My Yard – NO!

Zutons – Why Won’t You Give Me Your Love – NO!

Not ONE song that I voted for made it into the Hottest 100. I am sorely disappointed.

OK, I didn’t really expect The Boy Least Likely To to get in. But how did The Panda Band not make the 100? That’s a brilliant song, and it was ALL OVER the radio last year! As were The Zutons and Belle & Sebastian and The Sleepy Jackson!

But no! Australia decided that Youth Group’s Forever Young was more worthy. Red Hot Chili Peppers’ Dani California was infinitely cooler. My Chemical Romance’s Welcome to the Black Parade wasn’t actually a massive pile of emo shit (and neither was Panic! At The Disco’s The Only Difference Between Martyrdom & Suicide…). And Hilltop Hoods are so amazing that their whole album deserves to be in there.

I Am Not Impressed. Impressed I Am Not.

😦

  1. I only got two of mine – The Strokes ‘Heart in a Cage’ at 50 and Muse ‘Supermassive Black Hole’ at 18. Pish. Silly listeners this year!

  2. the Hottest 100 just seems to get sillier and sillier. It seems all the dipshits crawl from the woodwork to vote for the stupid songs.

    Though I must admit, I didn’t vote this year. I completely forgot. But if I had have voted, we would probably be looking at Grate 19 20 20 and Science is Golden, Muse Supermassice Black Hole, probably a Beck tune, Caravan Ray from Unearthed, and maybe Sausage Boy from unearthed just to be totally ineffectual.

Leave a Reply

