half goon half god

The Top Twenty Albums of 2006 (But Not)

In Uncategorized on January 3, 2007 at 12:37 pm

Following on from my groundbreaking Top Twenty Albums of 2006, I’ve realised that there’s another twenty albums that didn’t make the cut. So, in fairness, I figured I should give a quick rundown on each. I’ll try to keep each description to a standard somewhere around that of The Advertiser‘s – shallow. Albums are in no particular order, as I can’t really be bothered doing so, and I don’t think it really matters.

    Gerling – 4. It’s actually not a bad album. But there’s something about it that stops me from loving it.
    Eskimo Joe – Black Fingernails, Red Wine. While there’s nothing wrong with Eskimo Joe, and I do like this album, the title track has been overplayed and kind of ruined it for me. It would have probably gotten in to the Top Twenty if it weren’t for Jarvis. Who knows!
    Dan Kelly & The Alpha Males – Drowning In The Fountain Of Youth. Quite simply, I haven’t listened to it enough to really get to know it. Some great singles in it, though.
    Eels – Eels With Strings: Live At Town Hall. It’s too quiet and stringy. Which is the pont, I guess, but I liked I Like Birds the way it was before.
    Darren Hanlon – Fingertips & Mountaintops. Another one that I haven’t listened to enough to really like. Plus, his voice can give you the shits sometimes. But he tells a nice story.
    The Strokes – First Impressions Of Earth. I bought this almost one year ago exactly. First album I bought in 2006. And it’s not bad. Better than their second one, I think, because it’s not a carbon copy of Is This It. But I tend to lose interest in it about halfway through. Juicebox is cool, but.
    Sparks – Hello Young Lovers. Same reason as the others. Haven’t listened to it enough. And some of the songs go on just that fraction too long and become a bit annoying.
    Little Birdy – Hollywood. There’s no real reason it’s not in the Top Twenty. Just unlucky, I guess.
    The Whitlams – Little Cloud. Some really good songs (I Was Alive, Year Of The Rat, She’s Moving In) but then there’s White Horses, and I don’t like songs about horses.
    Isobel Campbell – Milkwhite Sheets. I like other albums more than I like this one. Also, I’ve only listened to it about 3 times, and having two spots in the Top Twenty would be a bit greedy of her.
    The Fauves – Nervous Flashlights. Some of the songs on Nervous Flashlights sound like songs off their Lazy Highways album from 10 yeas ago. And knowing that kind of ruins it. Still good, but that niggles away in my brain.
    The Rapture – Pieces Of The People We Love. I really want to love all of this, but I can’t. Woo! Alright Yeah… Uh Huh is a rad song, but.
    Jet – Shine On. It’s Jet. What more can you say? Some of it sounds like Oasis, other bits sound like The Beatles. And one has a pretentious French title that I don’t understand. So, while it’s good, it also annoys me.
    Jump 2 Lightspeed – Spooky Fun. It’s pretty much a ‘cheap & cheerful’ album. It’s good, but not fantastically great, and sometimes Ben Ely’s voice annoys me, as does his lyrics – sometimes they come off sounding really wooden. I’d rather more Regurgitator than this.
    Sufjan Stevens – The Avalanche. I couldn’t put this in the Top Twenty because it’s an outtakes album, and that wouldn’t be fair to the artists who actually created a real album.
    Butterfingers – The Deeper You Dig. It got boring towards the end.
    The Magic Numbers – Those The Brokes. Ditto.
    Arctic Monkeys – Whatever People Say I Am, That’s What I’m Not. I’m just sick of all the hype over them. They’re competent, and wrote a few good songs, but it’s not an incredible album. Surely they didn’t deserve number one from both Q and NME magazines! So that disqualified them – overexposure.
    We Are Scientists – With Love And Squalor. All their songs ended up sounding the same. I liked the cover, though.
    The Dresden Dolls – Yes, Virginia. Another that probably would have gotten into the Top Twenty if a couple of other albums didn’t exist. But they did, so it didn’t.

There you go! That’s it for my Musical Trilogy for now. I’m considering putting together a little sampler CD of some stuff from the Top Twenty, but I’m not sure at the moment. It would pretty much be a piece of shameless self promotion for halfgoon.wordpress.com, but I don’t think that matters really, does it?

  1. Do the sampler! Samplers are great! The only pro sampler I have is the 1997 Interscope Records Spring Sampler from when I bought Third Eye Blind’s ‘Semi-Charmed Life’ single.

  2. We’ll see, dude. We’ll see…

Leave a Reply

