half goon half god

Music

In Uncategorized on December 12, 2006 at 8:10 pm

I downloaded Bones by The Killers the other day. I can’t say I’m a huge Killers fan. I wouldn’t buy their albums, but I liked Somebody Told Me when it first came out. I freaking hated Mr Brightside because it was hideously overplayed. And I also hated the first single off their new album, whatever the song’s called. The one about riding in a hurricane. But I like Bones. Which perplexes me.

I think it’s the horns. I have a weakness for horn sections in pop music. Any sort of orchestral element, really. Strings, horns, whatever. I love them. They really boost a song right up to epic proportions – as long as they’re done right, of course. You can’t just chuck strings into a song and expect them to improve it. They have to be an integral part of the sound, not tacked on after as an afterthought. But the horn section in Bones is really cool. It trumpets away in the background like a little fanfare. I know it’s probably a synthesizer, but I don’t care. It’s all about the song’s mood for me.

Even when there’s just strings, I like them. However, I do not mean, like, classical stuff. I mean stuff like The Polyphonic Spree and Sufjan Stevens (and sometimes The Flaming Lips). I can’t stand classical music. Too wanky (and Sufjan isn’t..?). But when it’s really lush (or sparse, even) strings and vocals and a bit of choir in the background, the emotion in the song is amazing.

Or maybe it’s just the chanting. Bones has chanting in it, and I do love a good chant. It gets you all ready for a coup, or at least in the mood to wear a big furry hat.

Leave a Reply

