half goon half god

New Music Wednesday!

In Uncategorized on November 15, 2006 at 9:57 am

Sorry about the lack of alliteration there. New Music Monday works better, but it isn’t Monday! It’s Wednesday! But I do have new musical offerings. Well, purchases. I’m not offering this music. You heard that, record companies? No piracy going on in these parts of town!

First up is Pinky Beecroft & The White Russians! It finally got here! I ordered it from JB HiFi, and it took them about 4 weeks to get a CD from Marion to the City. That’s sloooow. But I could wait. Seeing as I already had the CD, albeit a white-label copy. But I wanted the artwork and stuff, plus the awesomeness of having both the white-label pre-release copy AND the commercial release. It’s a truly fantastic EP, especially the cover of Portishead’s Glorybox. Like, wow. I can’t wait for PB to get his arse (and the rest of him. maybe the band to, cos, you know, they’re kinda crucial) over to Adelaide.

I also picked up the new album from The Magic Numbers – Those The Brokes. Very cool, kinda bluesy but not, pop. Nice harmonies. But I haven’t listened to all of it yet. The last four songs may be utter garbage. I don’t know. But I doubt it very much, as I haven’t disliked any of the previous tracks. I’d be disappointed if 90% of it was awesome, then the last bit went to shit. But then again, that would serve me right for buying it on impulse after seeing it written on the board behind the counter, and not even checking the price.

We Died, They Remixed by Architecture In Helsinki also made it into my bag, as did the new Gorillaz DVD, Phase Two: Slow Boat to Hades. They haven’t been listened to/watched, so I can’t report back. But I’m looking forward to listening to the new AIH album. It’s pretty much last year’s In Case We Die remixed by a whole heap of artists, including Hot Chip, New Buffalo and Koool G. Murder with somebody called Squeak E. Clean. I have a bizarre feeling that Squeak E. is he who is known as E of Eels, but I can’t be sure. It’s a cavalcade of unsureness tonight! And as for the Gorillaz DVD, well, it’s Gorillaz. All their videos from Demon Days, plus live performances, other stuff, and an episode of MTV’s Cribs. I have no idea what that is, but I’ll just go along with it.

I think I’ve come to the realisation that I’m fairly shite at making informed purchases…

  1. Cribs is where MTV goes and looks at the home of musicians. I have a video file of Rob Zombies house. Its pretty interesting sometimes. Seeing not real peoples homes should be an experience

  2. First Comment! Yeah!

Leave a Reply

